About AWA

The Vision of a Wireless Future

Austin is poised to become a leader in the creation of a wireless future where voice, data and digital media converge onto broadband wireless platforms.

Austin will achieve this Vision by leveraging its entrepreneurial spirit and its assets in semiconductor design, software development, digital media and gaming, and wireless technology research in a collaborative arrangement between local government, the business community, our academic institutions, and our community groups.

About the Austin Wireless Alliance

The Austin Wireless Alliance (AWA) is a non-profit membership organization whose primary objective is to develop, sustain, and promote Austin as a global leader in business activity, technical innovation, and community participation within the wireless industry. The AWA is a leader in the development and coordination of the major strategic wireless initiatives in Austin and the Central Texas region. The AWA is composed of key leaders from all primary stakeholders in Austin including the business, academic, community, and government sectors.

Objectives of the AWA

Promote the growth of Austin as a wireless industry center of innovation and excellence.

Provide a forum for collaboration between senior executives, business managers, investors, technology leaders, and academics involved in wireless technology.

Facilitating growth opportunities for member companies through access to high tech mentoring and sustained sources of capital.

Promote education and training for new wireless industry job opportunities for residents of the greater Austin area.

Provide business-focused networking opportunities for member companies.

Enhance the political and regulatory climate by working directly with relevant local, state and federal entities.

Organizational Structure

AWA operates in a collaborative effort with the Austin Technology Council.

The organization is guided by a steering committee with representatives from leading Austin wireless corporations, the University of Texas at Austin, IC2, the Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce and the Austin Technology Council.

Steering Committee

Erin Defosse, Chairman of the Austin Wireless Alliance
Director, IT and Wireless Division – Austin Technology Incubator/IC², University of Texas

Willie Anderson, VP,  QUALCOMM

Pete Collins, CIO,  City of Austin

Gene Crick, Executive Director,  TeleCommunity Resource Center (TCRC)

Jennifer Devening, VP, Business Development,  Caringo

Caroll Faulkner, Principal,  C. Faulkner Engineering

Edgar Figueroa, Managing Director,  Wi-Fi Alliance

William Green, Director of Networking,  University of Texas at Austin

Thanasis Iatrou, President & CEO,  Media Excel

Michael Johnson, Sr. VP Product Development,  Motion Computing Inc.

Kaivan Karimi, Director of Strategy for WMSG,  Freescale Semiconductor

Andy Mathis, Sr. Manager, Motorola

Ted Rappaport, Director, Wireless Networking and Communications Group, UT

Alisha Ring, President,  Austin Technology Council

Mike Rollins, President,  Greater Austin Chamber of Commerce

Eric Stumberg, CEO, Tengo Internet
Jim Keeler, CTO,  Wayport

David Wolter, Executive Director of Wireless Networks,  AT&T Labs